Hi can I join in?

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby IVORTHE DRIVER » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:57 pm

Hi, as a "new boy" can I introduce myself?

I am a "mature" driver and have always taken a real pride in my driving since passing my test (2nd time) back in 1974 in an Austin 1300 of all things, brilliant little car.

I have been driving for a living since 1975 and have now covered something around 3 million miles over most of the UK, driving cars, vans, trucks (I hold a Class 1 HGV licence) both right and left hand drive, latterly I have been a Chauffeur and now drive a minibus for a big Scottish Hotel.

I like to think I am a good, safe driver and try to be consistent in the way I drive but am always willing to learn from others, hence joining this forum, hopefully I can add to and learn from, various discussions and maybe even pass on the odd word of wisdom to others.

Looking forward to talking to you all.....IVORTHE DRIVER
2.5 Million miles of non-advanced but hopefully safe driving, not ready to quit yet
IVORTHE DRIVER

Postby martine » Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:14 am

Hi Ivor and welcome!

Interesting background and 3m miles...blimey. Glad you're stll open-minded at your great age :wink:

Apart from the minubus what do you drive now?
Martin - Bristol IAM: IMI National Observer and Group Secretary, DSA: ADI, Fleet, RoSPA (Dip)
martine

Postby TripleS » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:44 am

martine wrote:Hi Ivor and welcome!

Interesting background and 3m miles...blimey. Glad you're stll open-minded at your great age :wink:

He sounds like a well clued up and discerning sort of chap: probably a Pug 406, I expect. :lol:

Best wishes all,
Dave.
TripleS

Postby fungus » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:43 pm

martine wrote:Hi Ivor and welcome!

Oi, watch the agist remarks. I learnt a few years earlier than that, though not as far back as Dave. :lol:

Incidently, welcome to the forum Ivor.
Nigel ADI
IAM observer
fungus

Postby IVORTHE DRIVER » Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:55 pm