I need a Job/Career

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby MiniClubmanEstate » Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:15 pm

I've been working for a good employer (Safeway) for a few years but unfortunatly we got bought over by this other companny who are hellish to work for, I've seen many long serving staff just walk out as they couldn't take any more.
I've been considering my opttions and one of my mates has suggested that as I love drivng I should get onto the buses.
I'm just curios what options are available to me. I don't want to be a white van man simply because I've heard plenty horror storys about employers, I also remember an unemployed van driver visiting this forum as he wanted to drive properly being a responsible driver.
Any Ideas? Cheers. 8)
Andrew: PCV, IAM Car
Smoky - Pronounced as Smokey, a unique little Mini.
MiniClubmanEstate

Postby rodericksdad » Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:32 am

I too had a similar problem and was lucky enough to have a large local bus company looking for drivers,i was lucky in the fact that they trained you/me and sorted everything out paperwork and licence wise and then they put me through the appropriate test,from starting training to passing test was about a month,which i must give credit to the instructer that i had and i have been now driving for them now on my own for just over 6 months and enjoying every minute of it,yes there are bad days,but in my area the good far outwheigh the bad as most of the work is in rural areas so we are not confined to just town work and i am garenteed to be home every night,i did actually find out an awfull lot more regarding driving and the law including a lot of seemingly never thought of before things that were never even mentioned in my advanced driving test,although i think that went some way in helping,
whatever you do hope that you find what you want and good luck,
best regards,Clive.
rodericksdad

Postby Dandu71 » Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:10 am