Risks can only be mitigated not totally removed.

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby WhoseGeneration » Thu Apr 10, 2014 10:09 pm

Observation, anticipation and planning can only relate to us and those other Humans around us.
How do those here consider the possibility of mechanical failure of the vehicle they drive?
I ask because when, a long time ago, I was a motorcyclist, I would, when "making progress" ask myself, "What would you do if you were to have a front tyre blowout".
Then, today, as a car driver, I assume the car will always respond to my demands, not considering that the engine ECU might decide to have "brain fade" when I decide to merge into the flow on a large roundabout.
Always a commentary, spoken or not.
Keeps one safe. One hopes.
WhoseGeneration

Postby fungus » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:34 pm

You have a valid point there. I don't think that in general drivers consider the posibility of mechanical failure when taking a vehicle on the road. Maybe fifty years ago when vehicles were not so reliable, drivers did consider it more.
Nigel ADI
IAM observer
fungus

Postby Lingo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:52 am

How do I consider the possibility of mechanical failure every time I drive? Well, I look at this in terms of:
1 - What can I do to minimise the risk of there being mechanical failure; and
2 - In the event that mechanical failure occurs, what can I do to minimise adverse consequences.

To answer 1, it's important to ensure the vehicle is serviced at appropriate times, and it goes without saying ensuring all legal requirements are adhered to like MOT compliance. In addition, carrying out regular POWDERYB type checks should help. Also, keeping an eye on warning lights on the dashboard, both when starting a journey and during it, to get the earliest warning of problems.