Driver Distraction

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby williams » Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:34 pm

Hi there!
I'm a automotive design student at coventry in my final year, for one of two projects this year im looking to design an interior to:

Look at ways of reducing driver distraction by simplifying controls and reviewing the layout of the car interior, whilst putting into practice the idea of turning controls from a cluttered distraction, into a more resolved, aesthetically and functionally beautiful centrepiece.

Items to look at_

Environment: Calming or stimulating, what keeps the driver more susceptible to distractions.
Passengers: How do they effect the driver, what layout suits the driver best.
Placement of controls: Away from passengers to stop fiddling!?
Lighting: Does it distract or alert?
Materials: Do certain colours, patterns distract, does dirt in the car distract. Look at how untidiness and clutter could add to distractions#
etc.. im sure you get the jist!

If anybody has any ideas or thoughts on whats distracting to them inside and outside of the car whilst driving, or good /bad examples of interiors for this subject, or ideas to reduce distraction it would be really good to hear from you!?!

regards

Andy Williams
williams

Postby James » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:09 pm

Interesting topic, I am sure there will many replies and debates that come form this thread. I personally would not like to see controls simplified...
James

Postby Nigel » Sun Nov 05, 2006 5:21 pm

Having read the request I've been trying to think of a useful answer.

The whole topic of driver distraction is very personal to an individual.

I can't think of any particular car that has caused me problems.