Advanced Driving... and a school in Africa

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby theyoungen » Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:43 am

Being an insomniac student, I'm currently sitting (at 2:30AM) watching News 24.

I've just watched an item about Oprah Winfrey donating $40M to fund a new girls' school in South Africa which has received a lot of coverage on the news both here and in the US (and undoubtedly elsewhere).

"What's this got to do with Advanced Driving?" I hear you ask!! Well, she cited as one of her reasons for setting up the school that "AIDS is a pandemic in this country [S.A.]. Girls who are educated are less likely to get AIDS. We need to do something now to reverse this pandemic by educating these children".

[I may have misquoted exact language, but it's near enough spot on]

The parallel between the pandemic of AIDS in South Africa and what could be described as a pandemic of road deaths in the UK stood out to me.

Now there are of course important differences and I'm not attempting to belittle what is clearly a humanitarian disaster in Africa, but it seems ironic to me that, as Oprah pointed out, the pandemic in South Africa can be reversed though education and SO CAN OURS!! ...yet still, no one [high profile] has stood up and shouted about it!!

Who is our Oprah?!

Excuse my mid-night ruminations... just thought I ought to vent them somewhere!
L-Test @ 17,
RoSPA Gold @ 18,
Group Chairman @ 19.
HPC @ 20

www.staffsadvanceddriving.co.uk
theyoungen

Postby Gareth » Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:23 pm

theyoungen wrote:The parallel between the pandemic of AIDS in South Africa and what could be described as a pandemic of road deaths in the UK stood out to me.