Clio Whine

Forum for general chat, news, blogs, humour, jokes etc.

Postby nuster100 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:02 am

Was driving home last night and my clio has developed a whine from what sounds like a belt.

It matches the engine revs.

I had a look under the bonnet and the whine is comming from the back of the engine.

its a 1.2 1999 clio for your info.

Would be grateful for any help, how worried do i need to be?

Jay
"Learn from the mistakes of others, you dont have time to make them all yourself"

Rospa South West and Taunton Group Chairman 2007-2009
nuster100

Postby James » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:05 am

Im no mechanic, I wouldnt panic, sounds like it could be the fan belt? If it comes form the rear then maybe a loose exhaust or flow pipe?
James

Postby jont » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:12 am

Alternator belt slipping in the wet weather? Usually a fairly high pitched squealing noise. Most cars allow the alternator to be moved on a bracket to tighten the belt up if it is this. Should be a 5 minute job to sort out.

Jon
jont

Postby nuster100 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:14 am

The belt ls at the top rear of the engine.

I don't think its the alternator belt, as the alternator is alot lower and the noise is wrong for it to be the fan belt.

Jay
"Learn from the mistakes of others, you dont have time to make them all yourself"

nuster100

Postby jont » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:18 am

Possible belts in an engine:
Alternator (also called fan belt)
Air con (if fitted)
Cam belt
Power steering belt?
Interior heater fan (I think some of the old 205s had this instead of directly driven motor)
I can't think of any others. If it's the cambelt then I'm surprised you haven't noticed your engine dying. I guess it could be for the power steering pump - although sometimes the same belt goes round the alternator and the power steering.

Sounds like you need a friendly mechanic to take a look - we could spend all day guessing. Have you got AA/RAC membership? might be worth a call.

Jon
jont