Getting work/experience as a New LGV Driver?

For discussion of topics relating to the Driving Standards Agency Learner Test (DSA L Test) and contribution by ADI's (Approved Driving Instructors)

Postby White Shadow » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:26 pm

I am a qualified Driving Instructor, but since the recession I have gone from having a reasonable number of pupils to having none whatsoever.

As a result, I decided to invest some of my earnings in training, by attaining my LGV Class 2 licence which I successfully obtained first time back in 2007. From there, I signed up with an Employment Agency where I got some work driving a refuse vehicle for a local authority. However, I was then laid off in January 2008 because the local authority had to make cut backs in their financial budget and the agency was unable to offer me any new work.

Due to this, I took the decision to invest my money again in obtaining my LGV Class 1 which again I successfully passed first time in March 2008. Since passing my test, I have not gained any more experience driving Class 1 vehicles because I feel I need more experience driving class 2 and gaining experience using tachographs, both using digital cards and the old style of tachographs. Also, I have no experience of sheeting or roping any goods on a trailer.

If I did decide to move onto Class 1 vehicles, I would probably go back on a refresher course mainly to get more experience and confidence in reversing as I feel this is where the skill really is.

However, I have applied for a few class 2 driving jobs with various companies, but unfortunately, I have been unsuccessful probably due to the fact other candidates have acquired more experience than me and doing multidrops as well. I have invested in a professional satelite navigation system which is specifically designed for LGV vehicles to assist with nationwide deliveries. In particular, I want to gain work experience with refrigerator work.