Help with stopping procedure

For discussion of topics relating to the Driving Standards Agency Learner Test (DSA L Test) and contribution by ADI's (Approved Driving Instructors)

Postby sherlock » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:37 pm

Hi everyone, posting this on behalf of my daughter who has had 5 lessons so far.

Her instructor is teaching the stopping procedure as being, out of gear and then handbrake on. I am an advanced driving instructor with the ambulance service and have always taught make the car safe first by handbrake applied, then out of gear next.

I've spoken to him tonight to try and understand why he would be teaching this way, and he states that for the purposes of a test it doesn't matter. I explained that if you don't apply the handbrake first to make car safe, and are only holding it on footbrake and get rear ended, the first thing that happens is that your foot slips off the footbrake, the car jumps forward and potentially knocks over a child.

I wonder whether I need to look at some retraining - last course 3 years ago, but even then system of car control was specific in the method to be used as being handbrake first then out of gear.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
sherlock

Postby WhoseGeneration » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:50 pm

Your area of the world totally flat then?
Always a commentary, spoken or not.
Keeps one safe. One hopes.
WhoseGeneration

Postby Angus » Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:06 pm

Find a different instructor?

I would be wary of any instructor whose opinion on anything is "it doesn't matter". He may have reasons but if he can't/won't justify them, I'd look elsewhere
Angus

Postby fungus » Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:29 pm

sherlock wrote:Her instructor is teaching the stopping procedure as being, out of gear and then handbrake on.