Pass Plus cost and benefits

For discussion of topics relating to the Driving Standards Agency Learner Test (DSA L Test) and contribution by ADI's (Approved Driving Instructors)

Postby grizzleybear123 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:05 pm

Hello,

Just to quickly intro myself, I am a new driver and have just passed my test about 8 days ago. I am trying to get a car, but also trying to do pass plus and experience real man's driving. However, the quote my instructor has given me for that is £170 and he said it's 4 hours driving and 2 hours theory. However, the GOV.UK says that you have to do minimum 5.5 hours of driving in Pass Plus. Even if he offered 5 hours driving and 1 hour theory, would I still be paying a fair price for this pass plus? Even though I have passed, I know that the real challenge comes when I get my car and start driving myself. I just want to know if doing only 4 hours of driving in my pass plus (with 2 hours theory) and then paying £170 for this is any good.

The reason I am posting this here is that I want other ADI's to have a look at it and see whether they think it is fair.

KR,
grizzleybear123

Postby Horse » Tue Sep 30, 2014 2:08 pm

Your thread title includes 'benefits'; I'm not sure that there are any proven benefits (to you, not the instructor) from Pass Plus ;)

What do you think you need to change in your driving?
Anything posted by 'Horse' may be (C) Malcolm Palmer. Please ask for permission before considering any copying or re-use outside of forum posting.
Horse

Postby martine » Tue Sep 30, 2014 2:32 pm

Hi, Welcome and Congratulation!

It's good to see you are looking to continue your training after passing your L-test.

I expect you are referring to this:

https://www.gov.uk/pass-plus/how-pass-plus-training-works

...which suggests 6 hours practical but then waffles a bit.