Choosing a first car

For discussion of topics relating to the Driving Standards Agency Learner Test (DSA L Test) and contribution by ADI's (Approved Driving Instructors)

Postby Slink_Pink » Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:53 pm

A friend has asked where the best place to get a first car is? Putting aside which car, for someone who has minimal knowledge in cars and is really just looking to get one after passing test, where would the right place be. My feelings are:

Franchised dealers obviously charge much more than other places, but perhaps offer a good solution in terms of being able to offer warranties/servicing packages. A good dealer can offer an outstanding level of service and be a pleasure to use.

Non-franchised dealers are less expensive but offer a similar service (used vehicle checks, etc), albeit not tailored to the specific make of vehicle.

Private is the third option, of which I have no experience, but in my mind carries the greatest risk for the unknowing purchaser with potentially the lowest price.

Cost is also a concern, as always, so I'm guessing that the next question I'll face is going to be about finance packages... but that's for another thread!
Q: "Need I remind you, 007, that you have a license to kill, not to break the traffic laws."
Slink_Pink

Postby TheInsanity1234 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:51 pm

I'm going on the assumption that if they're recently passed, they will be about 17 or 18, and consequently, why would they want to have a finance package?!

I've no clue about this, but I'm in this predicament, passed test and looking for a car.

So this thread will be useful for me too.

Look forwards to the replies.
TheInsanity1234

Postby discov8 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:12 pm

Unless you can do your own servicing and repairs buy the youngest aged car with full service history including invoices and receipts with the fewest previous owners that you can find.
Minimum of 9 months MoT ,if applicable.
RAC etc offer prepurchase inspections.