Hullo from Cheshire

A place for new members to introduce themselves and give some background information as to their experience with driving, likes, dislikes etc. It is advisable to post here first before posting to other forum's on the site.

Postby EMarkM » Tue May 19, 2015 12:28 pm

Hullo road-users one and all.

I'm Mark from south Cheshire and I've lurked long enough!

Being in my mid forties, I've been a car driver and motorcyclist for around 25 years. I consider myself to be an "aspirational" advanced driver, in that I've spent many years reading up on advanced techniques via the usual Roadcraft/John Lyon publications and more recently by finding some of Chris Gilbert's and "Reg Local's" material here on the interwebs.

I try to apply good technique where I can - observation, driving plan, sympathetic use of the vehicle mechanics, a driver's commentary (spoken or not), and so-on.

At many times throughout my road-use career so far, I've considered taking the IAM or RoSPA route, but have never seemed to find the time.

However, a recent change in work circumstances may bring me a little more time on new and varied roads, and it's high time I did something about learning to drive "properly" - and by that I mean "learning properly how to drive" :wink:

It's always seemed to be a good, positive community here on the forum, with loads of advice on offer, even in these apparently dwindling days of road users generally wanting to improve (!)

Well, that's enough rambling; it's good to be here - thanks for having me!
EMarkM

Postby EMarkM » Wed May 20, 2015 11:30 am

Thanks for the welcome, Chris.

I'll certainly be interested in organising a drive out sometime (when things have calmed down a bit here at home - long story).

It doesn't look like any of the organised forum driving days are likely to crop up locally as things stand.

Looking forward to meeting a few ADers face to face, as this is the main thing my "self training" has, by definition, left me lacking!