Hello everyone

A place for new members to introduce themselves and give some background information as to their experience with driving, likes, dislikes etc. It is advisable to post here first before posting to other forum's on the site.

Postby Driver8 » Sun Aug 23, 2015 6:44 pm

Hi,

My name is Steven and I've been driving for around 20 years. I'm just now starting my advanced driving journey having made initial contact with my local RoADAR group and hope to pass my test within the next 12 months or so (they are very busy and have a waiting list for observers).

Despite a relatively blemish-free driving history I've never really felt too confident behind the wheel and can get a bit stressed in busy traffic but hopefully I can tame my demons!

I've been lurking on the forum for a while and have found the discussion and all the advice excellent and have already started to put some into practise - though I'm not sure I'll ever conquer my bad BGOL habit!

Anyway, I look forward to chatting with you all in the time to come.

Cheers, Steven
Driver8

Postby akirk » Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:15 pm

Welcome Steven,

the biggest battle in Advanced driving is that initial decision to do something about it - the rest is all practice / coaching / etc - easy by comparison!

hopefully you will have an enjoyable experience

Alasdair
akirk

Postby Horse » Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:05 pm

Hello! Find what works for you :) And if you don't think what you're asked to do makes sense, ask your tutor to explain and justify.
Anything posted by 'Horse' may be (C) Malcolm Palmer. Please ask for permission before considering any copying or re-use outside of forum posting.
Horse

Postby waremark » Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:01 pm

A good decision. Where do you live?
waremark

Postby Zebedee » Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:09 pm

Hi Steven,

Welcome!

Whilst you're waiting for an observer, you could always watch the Roadcraft DVD and/or read Reg Local's Advanced and Performance Driving book.
Zebedee