New motorcycle course - Students needed for the pilot course

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby T.C » Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:28 pm

I appreciate that this board is aimed at car drivers rather than motorcyclists, but I thought this may be of interest,

I have today received written confirmation that the City and Guilds advanced course I have been working on for the past 12 months is now formally approved, so in short I am the only person in the UK who can issue a City & Guilds NVQ in advanced motorcycle riding.

I need to run a pilot course before the end of the year to get any potential bugs ironed out before it goes live next year, although I hope that having been responsible for setting up the RoSPA diploma and being responsible for RoSPA's advanced riding policy for many years, there will not be too many.

The course unlike RoSPA and the IAM will cover normal road riding, slow riding control, Personal protective equipment, road law (subject to passing the final examination as per RoSPA and the IAM), and every student will be qualified as a motorcycle specific first aider at the completion of the course.

It is a 1 week residential and there are two levels, post DAS and full advanced based just outside Salisbury.

In order to run the pilot, we are offering students onthe first courses a fairly hefty discount on the full course price which will come in next year, although successfull students will still receive the City and Guilds qualification, and is aimed at a higher standard than currently offered by RoSPA which is regarded as the highest civillian qualification at the moment.

I don't know what the price will be at the moment as I am not responsible for that side of things, all I want to do is draw up a list of people who would be interested in participating in the pilot course.

We have interest from the insurance companies which is a bonus