Overtaking Slow Traffic Queues

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby Scooter » Thu Sep 22, 2005 11:04 am

Overtaking seems to be the favourite topic at the moment so here goes ..

A thought occured to me whilst on holiday in Devon. A friend was driving and we were stuck in a line of cars following a slow tractor. As an advanced driver I would be looking for an opportunity to make progress but in this situation, given a safe opportunity, would it be seen as queue-jumping? Should we stay in an orderly queue waiting for the guy at the front to make a move?

Any thoughts?
Scooter

Postby crr003 » Thu Sep 22, 2005 12:11 pm

Scooter wrote: As an advanced driver I would be looking for an opportunity to make progress but in this situation, given a safe opportunity, would it be seen as queue-jumping? Should we stay in an orderly queue waiting for the guy at the front to make a move?

Any thoughts?

I'd normally wait a few seconds and see if anyone was interested in overtaking. Sometimes you can tell that the cars in front have no interest in overtaking - bunched up/low power.

Some people would advocate a nice headlamp flash, but that can be seen as aggressive by some. Unfortunately these days any overtake on a SC can be seen as aggressive.

On the other side, the tractor driver should be looking to pull over and ease the congestion. Some do, some don't.
crr003

Postby jibberjabber25 » Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:45 pm

Sorry, what is SC?

Thanks.
IAM Qualified Observer
jibberjabber25

Postby Lynne » Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:54 pm

jibberjabber25 wrote:Sorry, what is SC?

Thanks.

Single carriageway JJ. :wink:
ADI
RoSPA Diploma in Advanced Driving Instruction

Thankyou for being courteous to horses and riders :)
Lynne

Postby jibberjabber25 » Thu Sep 22, 2005 2:00 pm

OH, thanks. LOL, makes sense now.

Sorry about that. :?
IAM Qualified Observer
jibberjabber25

Postby vonhosen » Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:35 pm

A lot is going to depend on the size of gaps between vehicles.