ABS and braking when cornering

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby Kimosabe » Mon May 13, 2013 11:28 am

My 4x4 has all the bells and whistles including ABS, presets for various surfaces, ESP etc etc. As it is capable of being driven off road, it is more than capable of managing cornering on Tarmac at reasonable speeds.

I am a good driver and the evidence for this is my near 30 years of untarnished motoring, without any further training than my basic test. Before I enrolled with the IAM I had never driven into anything while turning a corner and had never skidded off a road due to excess speed but my biggest hang up comes when trying to fix something which was not broken. I'm putting a lot of effort into not braking when cornering than I think I need to.

The 'never brake when cornering mantra' seems defunct in a car with ABS because even when i floor the brake pedal, the brakes won't lock, the wheels will turn and the car can still be steered. On such a modern car being driven within speed limits on tarmac roads, is it still necessary to brake before a corner or bend and if so why?
A wise man once told me that "it depends". I sometimes agree.
Kimosabe

Postby Mr Cholmondeley-Warner » Mon May 13, 2013 11:42 am

For safety. For control. For stability. For passenger comfort.

Safety - not carrying more speed into a corner than you can lose in the distance you can see to be clear.
Control - not doing more than one thing at once, or asking the tyres to do two things (braking and steering) at the same time.
For stability - braking while the car is not travelling in a straight line will lead to sideways forces on the car which will upset it. In a worst case scenario, it might spin or roll. ABS will be no help at all with this.
For passenger comfort - cars feel more balanced and "natural" cornering under power than they do under braking. Your passengers will thank you for removing the feeling that you go into corners too fast.