Driver seat/steering position

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby revian » Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:01 pm

I've been driving for nearly five decades (not non stop!) but in my BMW 318d (2008) without the sports seats its taken me ages to find a reasonably comfortable distance driving position.... And a position for the steering wheel that is also comfortable/practical. I'm 5 ft 5/6 in 'tall'... And not wide... :D

Anybody have experience or advice?
Wirral
revian

Postby Astraist » Sat Aug 17, 2013 1:50 pm

I have a few. The first is not about adjusting the seat, but rather how you sit in it. Sit in the seat, not on it! Push your rump square into the corner of the seat and sit up straight.

The next is obviously the adjustment of the seat. Adjust it so all pedals can be comfortably depressed. This includes the throttle, brakes, clutch and dead pedal. Start the engine and press the brakes a few times to build up pressure in the booster and depress the pedal. The pedal should be depressed fully with the ball of the foot on the pedal and the heel on the floor. Your knee should remain slightly bent throughout.

Once you have adjusted the seat, erect the rake of the back so you can turn the steering wheel in any situation without unnesecary back movements. For this end, the rake of the back and the steering wheel should be as close and as parallel as possible within reason.

Adjust the seat height so your eyes are level with the upper half or third of the windshield. For most private cars, this can be more accurately measured by keeping a margin of four to five fingers between your head and the ceiling. Readjust steering angle so you can see all the instruments in the panel and ensure that your reach at the steering and pedals remains unhindered.