Personality vs electric vehicle adoption

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby freed7 » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:06 pm

Dear all,

I am currently doing my masters at Newcastle University, and I am investigating whether a person's personality is linked to their attitudes and opinions towards electric vehicles. It would be hugely appreciated if you could donate ten minutes of your time to fill out a survey.

www.surveymonkey.com/s/JNFrazer

Sorry to bombard your forum with this but with all my Facebook friends being of a younger (and less knowledgeable) age, I would really appreciate a different take on Electric Vehicles.

There are personality questions at the end but everything is anonymous. it would also be great to get a discussion/ chat going. I believe that electric cars are excellent, the only drawback being the initial cost for me.

Thank you very much.
freed7

Postby skodatezzer » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:29 pm

Would this sit better in the "general chat" section?
IAM National Observer. Chair, E. Surrey IAM.
skodatezzer

Postby TheInsanity1234 » Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:30 pm

I may be too young to drive, but believe me, I do have an opinion on electric cars!
Should I fill out the survey, or shall I leave it to the license holders?
TheInsanity1234

Postby MrToad » Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:17 am

When the question says 'spew out fumes', do you mean visible smoke?

Also, would you consider changing 'zero emissions' to 'zero tailpipe emissions'? After all, the energy's got to come from somewhere.
Do less, better.
MrToad

Postby Gareth » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:16 am

Picking up on MrToad's second point, (although being cynical I haven't done the survey), I wonder how the emissions compare for use of electric vehicles versus those powered by fossil fuels. I'm willing to discount the emissions costs of manufacture since they'll probably work out fairly similar in the round, but I wonder if anyone has done any really detailed investigation into this.