Cruise for MPG

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby Rick101 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:40 pm

I've seen several times here and elsewhere people professing the benefits of cruise control for maximising MPG.

Surely you can get better economy by using advanced driving techniques and planning ahead. I'm no expert but I can certainly achieve better figures by driving carefully.
Rick101

Postby trashbat » Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:58 pm

It depends how good you are at self-control!

Cruise is much better than I am at maintaining a low cruise speed, e.g. 65mph, whereas without it I get bored and speed up, usually averaging low 70s. That 65mph long distance cruise is how I got my best ever economy out of my car.

There are lots of reasons and circumstances in which it's worse or costs fuel, too, of course.
Rob - IAM F1RST, Alfa Romeo 156 JTS
trashbat

Postby martine » Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:34 pm

I've never tried it but I imagine cruise control would be great for mpg on a motorway. On other roads though I think you'd be forever overriding it and of course cruise control can't make use of acceleration sense - so I reckon an alert, 'advanced' driver would do better.

The downside of cruise control on a motorway are those times when you see someone inching past a slower vehicle, causing a tailback (and frustration) - I keep thinking: "for goodness sake just put your foot down and get out of the way" but I usually resist the temptation to close the gap in effort to 'push' them along.

Like any in-car tech there's a time and place I guess but the more the driver relies on it, they less 'engaged' they are?
Martin - Bristol IAM: IMI National Observer and Group Secretary, DSA: ADI, Fleet, RoSPA (Dip)
martine

Postby waremark » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:35 am

I use CC regularly. It does not reduce my engagement. I hope an Advanced Driver would use CC in an advanced way.
waremark

Postby jcochrane » Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:19 pm