Keeping to the speed limit

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby Albie » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:41 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post although I have been lurking for quite awhile so please be gentle with me. I just wanted your thoughts and input please about sticking to speed limits. Whilst I'm not an advanced driver I have been driving for nearly thirty years and have trouble sticking to the speed limit. This is not due to an over enthusiastic driving style but more to do with the pressure I feel from other road users to go faster. I know part of advanced driving is making good progress but I am not sure in todays day and age what good progress is as eweryone seems to want to exceed the speed limits. Take for example my commute to work, which is a mixture of cross country B roads and town driving. If I stick to the various speed limits I seem to be holding everyone up and feel this pressure to increase my speed. I have tried sticking rigidly to the designated speed limits but feel I am driving too slow with a big stream of traffic growing behind me! Any ideas on how to improve in this area? Many thanks in advance for any ideas and advice you may have.
Albie

Postby Horse » Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Could you check your speedo with a GPS to find out whether it's inaccurate?

As an interesting aside (of no use to you), I read the the guy in charge of the Google driverless car's software has said that it will, under certain circumstances, 'voluntarily' exceed the speed limit!
Anything posted by 'Horse' may be (C) Malcolm Palmer. Please ask for permission before considering any copying or re-use outside of forum posting.
Horse

Postby Albie » Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:20 pm

Many thanks for your reply Horse, but not sure my speedo is that inaccurate. just wondered if you guys who are advanced drivers had encounter the same thing with a build up of traffic behind you whilst sticking to 30mph in a 30 zone.
Albie

Postby trashbat » Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:28 pm