Dealing with cars slowing down ahead of you on slip roads

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby JMac » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:37 pm

Hi, I'm a relatively new driver looking for some advice from my superiors!

On two separate occassions in the last 2 months I've been driving up a slip road onto a dual-carriageway, where a car in front of me has slowed down right at the last second. On each occasion I was joining a road with a 50mph limit, and traffic was flowing freely although there were a fair amount of vehicles. In each situation I had checked the traffic on the road, indicated, picked my spot and matched my speed to allow me to pull in to the gap in the traffic. I can't say for sure how far behind the car ahead of me on the sliproad I was, but I tend to leave at least 2 seconds gap.

On the first situation, I pulled out into the flow of traffic and was accelerating up to the speed limit (50), and I noticed that the car in front of me was still in the slip road travelling more slowly. I caught up with him and he continued to pull out, causing me to take evasive action and move over into the other lane.

The second situation (happened this morning) had a similar build up but the driver suddenly came to a stop at the end of the slip road. My split-second decision was that I was travelling too fast to stop in time (just under the speed of the main traffic flow) to avoid running into him so I pulled out into my "slot" in the traffic flow and passed him as he was at a stop at the end of the sliproad.

I seem to remember that there was a medium sized truck ahead of us in the main traffic flow which might have made the driver ahead reluctant to pull out.

So my question is, what did I do wrong, did the other drivers do anything wrong, what would you guys have done in these situations and what's the best way to drive to avoid it happening again?