I need help!

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby imajes » Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:16 pm

Hey everyone -

Something's been bothering me lately, and I thought i'd look to find people who can help. I think you guys might be able to - so bear with me and do add any thoughts you may have!

OK.

I'm a new driver. I have an 18 month old license. I am 23. I currently drive less than 10,000 miles a year - and work from home so I am not a daily commuter.

I drive too fast.

But it's not too fast for me - I don't drive in a way that makes me feel uncomfortable.

I'm always aware of my surroundings - although, I do still occasionally miss something zooming up on one of my sides at an unfamiliar junction and have to react late.

if it's raining, or the conditions are bad (too much traffic, bad surfaces, bad vis, etc) i'll drive appropriately.

I don't really get too competitive anymore - I'm driving at speed more because I'm impatient, and that i feel comfortable at speed.

I try and drive sensibly in rural areas - but I am sure i'm at least 32 in 30 zones. I forget to look for street lighting.

I have a new car -- with abs, power steering etc - it's also quite forgiving (clio 1.2ltr).

but i drive too fast. I find 40-60mph slow... as if I could walk faster.

I've never been caught, never been flashed. had a couple of claims on insurance last year - but for maneuvers: by mis judging the space my car inhabits.

So i'm not looking for anyone to slap my wrist - and, if i was stopped for speeding and fined/given points, I'm not sure i'd not reoffend - what I am looking for are pointers and guidance - anything to help an intelligent person get to grips with his inadequacies :)

thanks!
imajes

Postby Nigel » Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:19 pm

Welcome to the forum.

I will admit I used to ride/drive like you describe.