I Speed - Therefore I'm a Bad Driver (?)

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving.

Postby paul adams » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:28 pm

When I drive, i concentrate, I am acutely aware of other drivers, I have a good level of car control, my eyes are always on main beam, I always observe effectively, I'm considerate to other road users including vulnerable road users, I drop well below the speed limit when required...such as outside a busy school, road works etc.

Then, whilst on a relatively quiet 30 limit road, no pedestrians, I look down to glimpse my speed, which is sitting around 37mph..

I'm a a bad driver? Because I "speed" do all the other elements in paragraph one become void? People can "see" I am speeding, but have no real tangible evidence of all the other good stuff I do...

Does anyone else feel this frustration..?
paul adams

Postby Advanced Driving » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:52 pm

In the eyes of the law, you are speeding and thus breaking the law, for which there is a punishment.

However, you can speed, and yes - still be an excellent driver. The law is black and white, real life is very much grey!
You can also speed and be a bad driver too I hasten to add! You can equally drive well within the speed limit and be an awful, dangerous driver...

There are many element that makes a good driver - not just speed..
Advanced Driving

Postby jont » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:56 pm

paul adams wrote:Does anyone else feel this frustration..?

Yes. But I wish all those that did would write to their local politicians and MPs telling them that road safety by proxy of number on a stick is not a good policy. Until politicians think it will cost them votes, they'll carry on listening to the "something must be done, think of the children" brigade and speed enforcement and speed limit reduction is an excellent way to pacify them.
jont

Postby paul adams » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:17 pm

jont wrote:
paul adams wrote:Does anyone else feel this frustration..?