Track day's

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving. IAM, RoSPA/RoADA, High Performance Course. All associated training. Motorcycle training.

Postby Rik » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:48 pm

I've been riding now for about 5 years, did the direct access route and more recently passed the IAM test. I'm now looking into trying out a track day. :P

Has anyone got any advice on which (UK) locations to attend or avoid for a first timer?
or any good or bad experiences to share :?:

Thanks
Rik

Postby hardboiled » Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:31 am

Hi Rik

I've been meaning to do a bike track day for a few year now but haven't got around to it. I knew that I wanted some decent instruction to begin with but a lot of track days for bikes are just cheap and cheerful and a bit of a free for all as far as I can tell. The opposite end of the spectrum appeared to be something like the Haslam sessions at Donnington. Considerably more expensive but good level of tuition and using their bikes.

After doing a session on the road in the car with a Police car/bike instructor he recommended www.rapidtraining.co.uk. They apparently offer a good level of instruction for beginners and also have some very skilled riders for the more serious requiring instruction.

So after umming and ah-ing for a couple of months now I've finally got around to booking a day at Cadwell park with Rapid Training. It's a long way off but I'm looking forward to it already.

Phil
hardboiled

Postby Rick » Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:52 pm