Why does the IAM not have a re-test and grading system

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving. IAM, RoSPA/RoADA, High Performance Course. All associated training. Motorcycle training.

Postby Ian » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:35 pm

Why does the IAM not have
A) A re-test every three years for its members?
B) Why is there no grading system like ROSPA?
I have just had my pre-run for the IAM and I am hoping to take my test very soon. If I pass, I just wondered what level of ROSPA pass this would be?
I just wondered that’s all.
I am an Optician by trade and I have to do compulsory continuing education, CET.
You might have people who have been a member of the IAM for 20 years and their driving might not be worth a carrot?
Ian

Postby vonhosen » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:23 pm

They're bigger the RoADA, so perhaps they couldn't manage to re-test the entire memberships, instead preferring to use their examiners for getting new blood in.
Any views expressed are mine & mine alone.
I do not represent my employer or these forums.
vonhosen

Postby jbsportstech » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:45 pm

I asked the same question in terms of advanced car side and someone stated that it put alot of people of rospa being retested and wa one reason why they are alot smaller and the lose some members.

In my mind if they don't want to keep their maintain their standard up let alone improve then I they might as well just join a motoring club/ make or model specific if they just want to enjoy their car or bike.

I am not a biker but I know the IAM car test is generally speaking is a bronze/silver.
Regards James

To the average driver 'safe' is not having accidents. To an advanced driver 'safe' is not being vulnerable to an accident.
jbsportstech

Postby ScoobyChris » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:58 pm

Ian wrote:I have just had my pre-run for the IAM and I am hoping to take my test very soon. If I pass, I just wondered what level of ROSPA pass this would be?