Next Idea

Discussion on Advanced and Defensive Driving. IAM, RoSPA/RoADA, High Performance Course. All associated training. Motorcycle training.

Postby nutter » Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:04 pm

I have just been told by an optician (not a forces advisor) that I will probably never become a police officer due to my eye sight (I have a lazy eye so only use one eye at a time, and surgery won't work) even though it meets the driving test standard, and my good eye is perfect.

What I wanted to do in the police was become a riding instructor for police riders, and generally do my bit to help reduce motorcycle casulties. As this is very unlikley to happen what can I do now to become an advanced riding instructor on civvie street.

I'm currently riding only on a CBT as I'm waiting for my 21st before doing DAS, but already use my interpretation of police roadcraft (I call it my interpretation as I'm self taught).

What are pay/hours and stuff like. Where would I be able to go for training (Ideally upto police standard), what are the likley costs of doing it all on civvie street etc

Many thanks
Mark
If it moves when it's not supposed too, use gaffer tape

If it dosen't when it should, use WD-40
nutter

Postby Horse » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:52 am

Is Google broken? ;)

Short answer is that, currently, no quals are needed by law to teach 'advanced' (ie post-test) riding.

There is the DSA's RPMT qualification. Currently only a couple of providers. This may - in the very long-term - become a legal requirement.

There's RoSPA's Diploma. High standard 'r/c' type riding required, and reasonable instructional ability (AFAIK - I don't have one).

Pay? What do you want to charge - how many trainees will you get? Hours? Add that to the equation!!!

Daily rates go up to C. £250 for 1:1 road riding. Spend a few hours on Google and see what's on offer. Also, see how your expected level of knowledge, skill, and experience compare.